Skip to content

Hair Today, Gone Tomorrow.

June 25, 2010

This weekend, I chop my hair. I made my appointment about a month ago (the Japanese lady who cuts my hair only works on Sundays, so I had to make the appointment way in advance). For those who don’t know, I haven’t had short hair since I was in the eighth grade — in other words, over 10 years ago. Even then, I hated it. I’ve always hated short hair. When I was in the second grade, my mom made me cut it short (like a boy) & then perm it (like a middle-aged Asian woman) — can you imagine the horror? Ever since then, I have fought for long hair and have pretty much succeeded in keeping it that way.


photo credits: 1, 2, 3, 4.

However, I’ve finally had a change of heart. Maybe it’s cause I’m married, or maybe it’s cause I feel restless, or maybe I’m just not as scared anymore… whatever it is, I’ve decided to cut my hair short. (I realize that people have different definitions of “short”… I don’t mean it’s going to be boy-short. Just not long anymore.) Something about short hair feels grown-up. I’ve associated long hair with youth, beauty, innocence… but these days I feel more like an old soul stuck in a young girl’s body.


photo credits: 1, 2, 3, 4.

So. I’ll let you know how it goes. I’m a little nervous, not only for the haircut, but also because I get the second half of my wisdom teeth pulled out today. I may end up looking like a little chipmunk with a bob this weekend, but you gotta do what you gotta do.

Here’s my number one inspiration image:


photo credit: 1.

I’ll be back on Monday with an update for you. Cross your fingers for me!

14 Comments leave one →
  1. June 25, 2010 6:43 am

    Love your inspiration. I’m so indecisive about long vs. short but these kind of photos are what usually get me to cut mine. good luck!

  2. Joan permalink
    June 25, 2010 7:15 am

    Exciting. Post pics!

  3. tiffany permalink
    June 25, 2010 8:33 am

    i totally understand the restlessness. you’ll look totally cute :)

  4. June 25, 2010 9:31 am

    do share a picture of the new haircut! i’ve had both long and short throughout my life. for now i’m keepin’ it long, but i’m not going to lie… this summer AZ heat is really making me want to chop it all off.

    -angela

  5. miriam permalink
    June 25, 2010 10:11 am

    oooh! do a before and after!
    i will NEVER cut my hair short again! big mistake, HUGE! i wore it up for almost an entire year!
    i think i’m gonna get front bangs!

  6. June 25, 2010 10:52 am

    OOOH! Can’t wait to see it…honestly though, I’m sure it’s going to be adorable. :D

  7. June 25, 2010 11:40 am

    good luck. I have never had short hair in my entire life. I am a little scared by it … let us know how it goes :)

  8. bee permalink
    June 25, 2010 1:22 pm

    can’t wait to see the new, short ‘do! i’m sure you’re going to love it.

  9. jules permalink
    June 25, 2010 2:10 pm

    cathie, you could be bald and still look cute!

  10. June 25, 2010 9:43 pm

    I hope you like your new hair cut. I cut 16″ off two years ago to donate to locks of love. I was nervous to have short hair because I had long hair all my life. Well… minus when I was really little and hardly had any hair. My mom says it took me a super long time to grow hair so when it came out she took really good care of it. Two years later… I’m glad to have my long hair back but glad someone out there is able to benefit from years of taking care of my hair… xo claudia bravo!

  11. Anna permalink
    June 26, 2010 12:14 am

    yea!! post up pictures please :)

  12. June 26, 2010 12:45 am

    ohmigoodness you will look so cute with short hair!
    can’t wait to see how it turns out :) happy weekend! xo.

  13. michael chung permalink
    June 26, 2010 1:42 am

    oooh, exciting! i remember all the indecision on the perm and that turned out well too. gluck

  14. charissa permalink
    June 27, 2010 9:12 pm

    oooOOOH! i’m so excited for monday!

Leave a Reply

