Skip to content

Pin It Forward: What Home Means to Me.

June 24, 2010

Awhile ago, I signed up for a blog series called Pin It Forward, hosted by Victoria of sfgirlbybay. 300 bloggers (including myself) have all started using a new bookmarking site called Pinterest, which I’d like to add is a-w-e-s-o-m-e. Considering the number of blogs I read everyday and the loads of inspiration I come across, it only makes sense that I’d need a place to bookmark all the neat things I see and would like to save for future reference. So I started pinning a little over a month ago…

…and this is the result.

For this particular blog series, each blogger is sharing “what home means to me.” A lot of bloggers have chosen to interpret this by displaying inspiration photos of things they’d love to have in their homes, or ways they’d like to decorate their homes, but I’ve taken a little bit of a different route. To me, home is not about possessions or decor (though I do love a well-decorated home). Home is…

…a place to hide away.

…community.

…imperfection.

…a place to be free.

…fighting battles together.

…and being with the one you love.

Even if I could have my dream house — vintage details, all sorts of collections, restored furniture, wallpaper & art prints from floor to ceiling — it wouldn’t be home without the one who makes home for me: my husband.

To see the rest of “what home means to me” & to find the sources of all these images, check out my Pin It Forward board. And now I pass the baton onto A While Ago & Recently, who will be posting what home means to her tomorrow! You can also see the rest of the Pin It Forward posts here. :]

11 Comments leave one →
  1. June 24, 2010 7:31 am

    cathie- your pin it forward is my favorite in this series. this is what home is all about!

  2. June 24, 2010 8:04 am

    wonderful post! i am loving everyone’s pin it forwards.

  3. June 24, 2010 8:38 am

    *gasp* did someone sneak in and take a picture of my kitchen yesterday??! Love your collection cathie, warms my heart :)

  4. June 24, 2010 9:13 am

    such a beautiful interpretation of what home means to you!
    its rather inspiring, cathie. :) love it.

  5. June 24, 2010 6:05 pm

    Gorgeous post Cathie!! Exactly what home should be! I love that you put imperfections…you’re so right! It’s what makes home, home!

    (and don’t you love pinterest?? wish I had more time to play with it!)

  6. June 24, 2010 10:28 pm

    i love that you posted “a place to be free,” and “community.” that is also what home is to me =). the pictures in this entry are gorgeous. <3!

  7. June 28, 2010 3:36 pm

    lovely meanings for being home. i especially like the acknowledgement of imperfections + not facing battles alone. pictures + words make great pairs.

  8. July 16, 2010 5:10 pm

    what lovely things to say about home. loved the photos and sentiments. makes me feel so content to be home.

Trackbacks

  1. { wit + delight }: design / fashion / projects / oddities
  2. Links « frenchrosenotebook
  3. happy weekend | { wit + delight }

Leave a Reply

