Skip to content

Weekend Three.

May 24, 2010

It had been kinda chilly in Socal this past week, so I was happy that it warmed up quite a bit this weekend. My weekend three:

One. S took me out to brunch at Old Vine Cafe as a last hurrah before we moved. It’s one of my fave local eateries — rustic charm, wide open windows, canvas painting menus, succulents… oh, and delicious food too.

I actually didn’t get to take very many photos this time, so these are from another time we went a couple months ago.

Pumpkin French Toast. Great food styling, no?

Two. Packed, moved… and kind of unpacked haha. Something I failed to mention earlier is that we actually temporarily moved in with my in-laws. It’s for a number of reasons that I’ll leave for another time, but essentially, we’re living in our sister-in-law’s old room and using S’ old room as an office.

I love the wood paneling in the office & am eager to put up some wall art & shelving for all my craft supplies. We’ll also be adding a fresh coat of paint to some of the rooms once my father-in-law is back in town :] Pretty excited for a new space to decorate, even if it is only temporary.

Three. Went over to my sister-in-law’s house to watch the series finale of Lost.

Is anyone as confused as me?? (Granted, I started watching the show this season, so I’ve had about a million questions every single episode.) Personally, I loved the Grey’s Anatomy season finale much better — left me in a puddle of happy/sad tears & feeling much more fulfilled than Lost.

Plans for the week: unpack.

What are your weekend three?

13 Comments leave one →
  1. May 24, 2010 5:47 am

    Looks like a wonderful weekend! My weekend three are:

    1) My parents returned home from Switzerland on Sunday! Which brings be to…

    2) They brought back a crapload of chocolate, Haribo gummies, and cheese with them. Yum. But…

    3) This means my honeymoon period with food experimentation is sadly over. My mom looked at me weird when I told her I made peanut butter last week. :(

    I love the photo of the stairs! So creative. :D

    Wei-Wei

  2. May 24, 2010 6:03 am

    the food presentation is beautiful! I never really think to eat anything pumpkin until like fall usually but that looks sooo delish!!
    my weekend three
    1) sewed a purse, bunting banner, wallet and aprpn!
    2) went to a cool new local latin bistro
    3) packed for my trip this week!!

  3. May 24, 2010 7:59 am

    pumpkin french toast… oh. my.
    happy moving! your rooms already look darling, cathie– how do you do that?!

    my 3.. best friend visit, invictus (good movie), and perfect weather for evening walks.

  4. May 24, 2010 10:36 am

    pumpkin french toast??! that’s all i can think about now. yum.

  5. miriam permalink
    May 24, 2010 11:11 am

    so funny that ur living in julie unnie’s old room.. had some fun memories there! excited to see the changes u’ll make! =)

  6. May 24, 2010 1:11 pm

    looks like a great weekend. i’ve never had pumpkin french toast. sounds interesting and looks yummy!

  7. ann permalink
    May 24, 2010 1:27 pm

    just stumbled on your blog and i think it’s lovely :) i adooore your necklace in the 2nd photo! may i ask where you got it?

    • May 24, 2010 1:28 pm

      @ann: it’s from BR factory store (outlet) — they should probably still have it. :]

  8. May 24, 2010 2:30 pm

    OMG, that pumpkin french toast looks to die for – great job on styling :)!! and i thought lost was a great tear-jerker – but i think i wanted more from the ending. i was hoping for something more unique and cool!!

  9. Christine permalink
    May 24, 2010 3:14 pm

    Pumpkin French toast?! :D I’ll definitely have to try that place the next time i’m in the oc.

    You haven’t even started decorating and your place already looks so nice! I bet it’s going to be even more amazing after you’re done.

    : )

  10. May 24, 2010 5:18 pm

    that french toast looks AMAZING.

    my weekend 3…. 1. made an intensely complicated (at least, for me) chocolate cake from scratch, 2. took a LONG nap, which was heaven, 3. watched lost

    i’m still a little confused about the ending, but was SO happy that jack and kate are together!

    sounds like your weekend was busy but fun. hope you’re having a good monday!

  11. May 25, 2010 12:18 am

    I love the stairs with the poem written down it! I’ve done something similar myself, but it wasn’t as elegant and beautiful as this!

  12. May 29, 2010 10:23 pm

    Oh wow!! That french toast looks incredible!!

    And the stairs…what a clever idea!!

    Your blog is swell! Glad i found it. :)

    Smiles to you,
    Jenipher

Leave a Reply

