Skip to content

Just for Fun & Giveaway Winner.

May 20, 2010

I’m finishing up my first semester of graphic design class, something I’m doing on the side at a community college… just for fun. Just a few months ago, I had no idea how to use Adobe Illustrator & only minimal knowledge of Photoshop. And now, the pen tool is my best friend. :] We had to submit a CD cover design for a project yesterday & I scrambled to put it together in time, but was really pleased with the final product.

I used a CD that S made for me on our one year anniversary of dating. He compiled some songs that were meaningful to us at that time & put together his own CD cover design for me. It was such a sweet & sentimental gift — I loved it. :] I used all the same songs, stole snippets from his wording, but re-did the entire design.

I titled the CD “The Beginning” to commemorate that precious year and a half before we got married. My favorite parts of the design are the floral prints that I actually snatched from Anthropologie’s rug collection haha. Love those (even if I can’t afford them, I can admire them from afar). So thankful for this unique little time I have right now to be taking classes, learning new skills, & pursuing hobbies/interests. Next class on my list: typography!

Also, randomly chose an entry from the giveaway last night & the winner is:

…of the lovely blog caught light. I will email you shortly regarding shipping information. Thanks to everyone for participating & for all the encouraging words!

12 Comments leave one →
  1. May 20, 2010 6:46 am

    Oh, how adorable! The CD is amazingly well-designed. Good job! :)

  2. May 20, 2010 8:05 am

    Great job on the CD cover! It’s very well done. I like that rug design, nice choice!

  3. May 20, 2010 8:28 am

    that looks sooo good cathie, nice job! that would be one of my dream jobs to design cd covers..or even just make mixtape cds for people (is there even such a job? haha)

  4. May 20, 2010 8:51 am

    Awww, that’s awesome you took the class! Bravo to you! xoxo

  5. May 20, 2010 9:22 am

    Too cute Cathie! Love the floral print!

  6. May 20, 2010 9:54 am

    I would love to take a graphic design class in the future. The CD looks amazing, so cute!

  7. May 20, 2010 11:18 am

    This is so lovely!! I love the actual CD print, was this originally a fabric? The shoes look cute too. Lovely colour palette too :)

  8. May 20, 2010 2:40 pm

    that’s a great idea – using the image from anthropologie’s site – i love all their rugs and you did a great job with the image. LOVE IT!

  9. May 20, 2010 7:09 pm

    wow, that floral print is SOOO beautiful!! and i love the silhouettes! what a great gift!!!

  10. May 20, 2010 10:11 pm

    love! it’s reminiscent of b. tsang’s business cards, whose blog recently featured a photo of you!! omg cathie, you are so brave…i’ve been dying to shoot her an email but i dont have the nerve to!

  11. May 21, 2010 1:16 am

    Hi Cathie!

    I found your blog via Oh Hello Friend, and I have to say I love it! :D

    How SWEET of your bf to make you a CD, and how beautiful you made it.

    Love florals!!!

  12. May 21, 2010 9:05 am

    Thanks so much, Cathie! And that CD is adorable!

Leave a Reply

