Skip to content

Weekend Three.

May 10, 2010

This weekend we…

One. Drove down to the Carlsbad Flower Fields to admire an endless sea of ranunculus. I was hoping to do this for my friend’s birthday in June, but found out they close for the season on Mother’s Day, so dragged my husband with me instead. Taha.

Two. Started packing & moving. We loaded up four suitcases full of clothes & didn’t even make a dent in our closets. Donated another four trash bags full of clothes to our church’s garage sale. I always forget how crazy moving is.

My craft box, packed & ready to go. And yes, those are our wedding thank you cards from a year ago. I think we have like 100 extra… I need to figure out some clever way to re-purpose them. Any ideas?

Three. Celebrated with my brother-in-law as he graduated from seminary. My sister-in-law’s friends make awesome fondant cakes & specialized this one for him.

He is an avid Simpsons fan (he actually wanted a Simpsons-themed wedding cake, which my sis-in-law shot down), so this was perfect for him. Love the chalkboard feel that they created, especially with the white “chalk” shavings at the bottom.

Lots of moving ahead in the next couple weeks, but also lots of new projects that will be underway in our new home! So excited to get started with cleaning, organizing, & decorating — will share with you along the way :]

What are your weekend three?

19 Comments leave one →
  1. May 10, 2010 6:29 am

    wow. that field is where i want to be right now. oh my goodness! how beautiful. am so glad one of us got to enjoy it.

    happy moving, cathie! hope every part goes so smoothly. and, of course, i cannot wait to see new ventures in the new home. how fun. are you going far?

    congrats to your brother in law– seminary! that is so cool. i love this time of year when everybody’s celebrating big accomplishments.

    my three.. 1. movie night @ home with grant 2. thrifting 3. mother’s day bbq at my in-laws’ farm!

  2. May 10, 2010 8:07 am

    I wish I could visit that sea of ranunculus! It looks beautiful.

  3. May 10, 2010 8:28 am

    ahh, that field is gorgeous.

  4. May 10, 2010 8:37 am

    a field of ranunculus?! oh my. sounds like a lovely weekend. i hope your mom enjoyed her lovely package!

  5. May 10, 2010 8:57 am

    yay you went to the flower fields! and boo that you are moving farther away, you better come back soon! : )

  6. miriam permalink
    May 10, 2010 9:01 am

    wow that cake is amazing!!!!!! jeena is awesome!

  7. May 10, 2010 9:02 am

    Oh nicee you got to go to flower fields! Guess I have to wait for next season :(

    My3: 1) fried chicken/borders date night, 2) speed cleaning for last min lakers game guests, 3) got started on (but didn’t finish..uhoh) letterpress hw due today

  8. May 10, 2010 11:19 am

    You have a beautiful blog -thanks for visiting me today!

  9. May 10, 2010 2:31 pm

    so so jealous!! ranunculus are my absolute favorite flower! i can’t even imagine what a whole field of them would be like – thanks for sharing a picture :)! just gorgeous. oh and btw…my hubby and i are huge simpsons fans…love the cake :)

  10. May 10, 2010 4:49 pm

    ranunculus is one of my favorite flowers! ….and there is a massive field of them here! so lovely!

    thank you for your sweet comment about the shin dig……..you need to come visit your aunt and uncle very soon:) I would love that and I’m sure they would too…hee hee!

    xo

  11. May 10, 2010 5:12 pm

    ah cathie! that field!!! ranunculus’ are my fave flower!

    good luck with the move :)
    j.

  12. May 10, 2010 5:55 pm

    I just learned of this festival – how pretty! I bet it was beautiful.

  13. May 10, 2010 7:27 pm

    I know exactly what you could do with those thank you cards.
    you need to save them, and have a “rededication” 25 years later, and then send those out as thankyou cards.
    people will get to see you 25 years younger!

    -c

  14. May 10, 2010 7:28 pm

    OH,
    and i want one. i never got one. boo.

    -c

  15. May 10, 2010 9:25 pm

    Is that ranunculus for real? So so beautiful. I miss Cali.

    I love your mom’s day card. I know your mom did too. She raised one talented daughter!

  16. May 10, 2010 10:56 pm

    what a beautiful blog, cathie!

  17. May 11, 2010 12:42 pm

    I agree with the 25-year anniversary card thing… or maybe even 5? Or 10? :) You could also trim off the top, or add a bit of colored masking tape over the “thank you” with “we’ve moved” written on it, and send out your new address? Or cut the photo out and use it for holiday cards? Or… they’re just too pretty to go to waste.

    My weekend three: (1) Soccer-watching and burger at Cuatro’s, a local pub; (2) Ordered an iPad (!); and (3) Ceviche, huaraches and margaritas at Fonda San Miguel. :)

  18. May 20, 2010 9:28 pm

    This post warms my heart because my husband and I also had thank you postcards from our wedding with our photograph on the front, and similar to you, we also have an excess of them.

    I just discovered your blog through Oh, Hello Friend and I love it. Thanks for sharing your talent and discoveries.

Trackbacks

  1. Flower Fields. « ampersandity

Leave a Reply

