Skip to content

Small Cool 2010.

April 28, 2010

Have you guys been following the Small Cool Contest on Apartment Therapy? For those who don’t know, it’s a neat little contest where people can submit photos of their “small” homes, any place that’s 1000 SF or less. Apartment Therapy hosts this as a way of proving that a lack of space doesn’t mean you can’t create an inspiring space (whew, lots of negatives in that sentence). I totally agree with their philosophy & am a firm believer that any space can be transformed into a beautiful, inspirational space with a little bit of thought & devotion. Doesn’t matter if you live in a cookie-cutter neighborhood, or a plain beige box apartment complex — you can make it your own!

I actually spent the last hour or two clicking through all the entries, and here are a few of my fave photos:

TEENY-TINY (400 SF or under):


whitney


glenn

TINY (401-600 SF):


julie


meredith


left: pong, right: nicky

LITTLE (601-800 SF):


adam


emily

SMALL (801-1000 SF):


left: sam, right: michael


samantha

Isn’t it amazing what people have done with their limited space? You would never believe how small their places are from the looks of these photos! I’m trying to convince S to let me submit for next year’s contest — I’m gonna have to work on sprucing our place up before then :]

If you get a chance, head on over & cast your votes! Do you have favorites that you think will win?

14 Comments leave one →
  1. April 28, 2010 6:32 am

    I love seeing photos like this. I can never seem to find enough room in my place :)

  2. April 28, 2010 7:27 am

    Hmmm, I think I might enter next year. The cute bike in the living room gives me an edge, I think. I love Meredith’s gallery wall, using an empty frame is an excellent idea!

  3. April 28, 2010 7:49 am

    they are all so cute! i’m always amazed by how sweet AND functional small spaces can be.

  4. April 28, 2010 9:15 am

    i’ve been a little obsessed with looking through all of these. i can’t believe how great some people can make the tiniest space look. makes me want to stop complaining about my 1800 sq ft house which is plenty big enough! :)

    -angela

  5. April 28, 2010 9:26 am

    I am amazed! I’m definite keeping these in mind when I move to SJ.

  6. April 28, 2010 11:33 am

    I love those spaces! I haven’t followed those contests. Thank you for introducing them!

  7. April 28, 2010 4:59 pm

    wow! totally in love with emily’s space.

    i can’t wait for you to submit your space! i bet it’s gorgeous :)

  8. April 28, 2010 6:04 pm

    I would have to say… either Emily or Whitney are my favorites. They are all so cute, though! They remind me of Ikea.

  9. April 28, 2010 6:52 pm

    ohhh i LOVE the julie and emily rooms!! they both have great color schemes and visually interesting and clean designs!!!

  10. April 28, 2010 8:51 pm

    i LOVE the first one! and that dog staring back is so cute too… haha

  11. April 29, 2010 4:16 am

    Love the last one! Great selection !

  12. April 29, 2010 9:31 am

    I always blame my lack of space for my apartment’s non coolness. Turns out I don’t have as good as a excuse as I thought.

  13. April 30, 2010 4:33 pm

    I love Julie’s little white kitchen – the colors just pop!

  14. May 6, 2010 7:52 pm

    Very cool, I love your picks! Thanks for stopping by Color Collective, your blog is great!

Leave a Reply

