Skip to content

Date (San Francisco Version).

April 15, 2010

In lieu of our regular Tuesday date night, we had a full-on date day in San Francisco this week. Chock full of pretty cafes, dessert shops, handmade boutiques, design stores, and antique shops (i.e. my dream date).

Even though I grew up in the Bay, I never really explored SF the way I want to now. To me, SF was about hilly streets that made me carsick, fog, skinny houses with no yard space, and the typical touristy spots that my parents always dragged me around to. Kinda makes me want to kick myself for not taking advantage of the big city when I lived nearby, but what’s done is done. On the bright side, I get to visit SF every time I visit my parents, and a plus: I get to drag around my very gracious & selfless husband to all the places I want to see, taha :]

First stop was Tartine. Joy from Oh Joy Eats recently posted about their yummy almond croissants, so of course I had to try it. Along with their brioche bread pudding. And their rooibos and chamomile tea. Did not disappoint! The almond croissant was our favorite — so much, that we bought an extra to bring back for my mom, who is an avid pastry lover. Clearly I am my mother’s daughter.

Next stop: Hayes Valley. I don’t know all the names of the shops, but I’m pretty sure we walked into every single one. It’s a neat little district that’s supposed to be like a mini-NY. I loved the character & individuality of every shop, and the fact that a bunch of the products were handmade by local artists.

This children’s and women’s clothing store was actually one of my favorites, but I got busted after taking two pictures, so this is all I have to show. All of the little girls’ clothes were made of this soft linen cotton, in lots of neutral colors. I love it when kids are dressed like mini-adults — it’s the absolute cutest!

We spent a ton of time perusing a vintage shop called Zonal Home. It’s one man’s collection of salvaged late-19th century furniture & other goods. Tons of awesome furniture that we would have loved, but were out of our price range. And other little odds & ends stashed from floor to ceiling. We loved it all.

Popped into Paulette for one of their famous macarons. I debated between Rose & Earl Grey and settled on Earl Grey. It was so yummy & not too sweet (which is hard to come by in the world of macarons).

Last one I captured with my cam was a furniture/design store that I don’t know the name of. I loved all the unique decor ideas they had (many of which I’ve never seen before, even in the blogosphere). I particularly loved the prints of the airport acronyms. S loved this giant wooden chair they had that we unfortunately could not afford (he’s been really into wooden chairs ever since our recent trip to Room & Board).

After this packed day in SF, we finished off the night with How to Train Your Dragon. In 3D. IMAX. I had pretty much zero expectations, cause when I initially heard the title, I thought it was another Jackie Chan or Jet Li movie. Not my cup of tea. But it was a super sweet animation film about a friendship between a boy and a dragon that made me cry (happy tears) & there couldn’t have been a better end to our day together.

14 Comments leave one →
  1. April 15, 2010 7:25 am

    How FUN, Cathie!!!

    I used to live in Hayes Valley and LOVED that little cool area :) I’m going back this summer, too, can’t wait!!!

  2. April 15, 2010 7:44 am

    looks like you guys had a great time! we do something similar every month here in the twin cities… we call it a “stay-cation” and try to eat, drink, and shop some place new. keeps things fresh!

  3. gregandsusan permalink
    April 15, 2010 9:14 am

    oh my goodness…love the children’s clothes! I tried taking a couple pics of my baby in anthro once…I got busted too :)

  4. April 15, 2010 9:53 am

    how fun. i’m pretty jealous… it’s been years since i was in san fran. sorry i posted about the general store a day late :) next time, right?

    amazing photos. and the food looks so yummy.

    -angela

  5. April 15, 2010 10:43 am

    I really love your shots of Zonal Home. That place sounds super cool! If I ever make it to San Fran again I will have to check it out!

  6. April 15, 2010 11:07 am

    I am just drooling over all that yummy looking food. currently I am eating an apple with peanut butter, boring.

  7. April 15, 2010 11:43 am

    Great! You got to go to Tartine! I love that place. I haven’t been to Paulette and it looks like a great place.

  8. April 15, 2010 2:05 pm

    This was not a good post to read while starving. That bread pudding is making my tummy talk :)

  9. April 15, 2010 6:08 pm

    Your photos are BREATHTAKING! Even the simplest photos are shot so thoughtfully.

  10. April 15, 2010 6:09 pm

    Also, I love the name of your blog. My number one choice was Ampersand but of course it was taken. :/ Yours is so much better!

  11. becky permalink
    April 15, 2010 8:27 pm

    loving the pictures!!! can you take me shopping for pretty things one day?

  12. April 16, 2010 12:02 am

    Oh how fun! I love the pictures of your shopping trip. Jealous!

  13. April 16, 2010 5:42 am

    I am headed to san fran in a couple of weeks and I am going to write these down for sure……they all look like great stops!!

    thanks for posting!

    xo

Trackbacks

  1. Changes. « ampersandity

Leave a Reply

