Skip to content

Date Night.

April 8, 2010

This week we finally had our first Kogi truck experience. Have you heard of this? Korean/Mexican fusion — Kalbi tacos & burritos, Kimchi quesadillas. These trucks travel around the greater Los Angeles/Orange County area, staying only for a few hours at a time before they drive off to the next location on their schedule. They happened to be stationed a few blocks from us on our date night, so we stood in line, eager to see if it was really as great as they say it is.

I have to admit, it was yummy. The meat was marinated to perfection & the smell of Korean BBQ wafting out of that truck was enough to market itself. The portions are smaller than what we’re used to getting from authentic Mexican places in San Diego, but the prices are relatively cheap.

The line was pretty hefty (maybe 30 people were waiting there before the truck even arrived), so we stayed until sundown. Ate out of trays on the sidewalk, juices running down our hands. Delicious!

After dinner S drove us over to the monster Goodwill by our house. I say monster, because it’s seriously the biggest Goodwill I’ve ever seen — shelves and shelves of houseware items, racks and racks of old clothes. He knew that I’d been wanting to do more thrifting but hadn’t even had the chance to run my normal errands, much less, shop for pleasure.

I came away with some beautiful hidden treasures that I’ll share tomorrow, but check out these big ticket items I saw when I first walked in:

I so so so badly wanted to salvage that vintage desk/chest on the right. It would look awesome with a little restoration. But S reminded me that 1) we’re moving in a couple months & will be storing most of our furniture and 2) I don’t know how to restore furniture. Oh yeah.

Still. I think I can learn. If it’s still there next time, I may just have to learn… What do you think? Is it salvage-worthy?

9 Comments leave one →
  1. April 8, 2010 9:56 am

    If you have space for it, I definitely think that vintage desk is worth it. It’s so beautiful and you can find tips online on how to restore it.

  2. April 8, 2010 12:23 pm

    The desk is beautiful. I think it’s worth getting if you can afford it and you really like it, but it may not be the most practical time :) Maybe you can buy it and store it with the rest of your furniture and in the meantime find out how to restore it.

  3. April 8, 2010 12:37 pm

    The desk looks pretty intricate, but I think you could do it. It would definitely be an amazing piece once it’s restored.

  4. April 8, 2010 2:39 pm

    The Kogi Truck sounds so cool – I bet it was delicious! OMG, my husband would be all over this truck if we had one near us :)

    The vintage desk is beautiful. It could be amazing restored!!

  5. April 9, 2010 7:08 am

    this is pretty much my dream date. oh i’m so jealous of orange county people and your cool taco trucks! thanks for showing me what it looks like, i feel like my dream is a teeny bit fulfilled now. and then thrifting.. what a perfect ending!

    i don’t know how to restore furniture either, but i bet you could do awesome things with just paint and new hardware! i think it’s totally salvage-worthy!

  6. April 9, 2010 8:48 am

    Sounds delicious! I’ve heard of Kogi BBQ, our local Seattle Korean Taco truck is called Mobile Marination, I haven’t had the opportunity to hunt them down yet, but your experience is making me change that into a priority!

  7. April 9, 2010 12:43 pm

    so it has come to this….

    where i eager check googlereader every morning to see if ampersandity has been updated! I look forward to each entry. :D

  8. April 10, 2010 1:01 pm

    what a fun date night! I would be itching to try that food too….it sound delicious!

    xo

  9. April 25, 2010 6:01 pm

    ohhh i LOVE the kogi truck tacos!! for my nephew’s first birthday (dohl) my brother/sister-in-law rented out the kogi truck just for the party so that’s when i had it (back in january)! they were such a hit and it was even better that i didn’t have to wait in a long line haha!

Leave a Reply

