Skip to content

Date Night.

April 1, 2010

This week we had a simple date night — a quiet dinner & movie at home. But in a way, I enjoyed it more than our nights out at some fancy new restaurant or window-shopping at cute boutiques. It had been a long day at work… I worked overtime, got stuck in major traffic, and ended up getting home an hour later than usual. I was tired, a little frustrated, and my rear was achy from sitting in the car for so long. But when I did get home, I was welcomed to S bustling about in the kitchen, trying to prepare dinner for me with food that we already had in our fridge & pantry (an extra sweet gesture not to spend more money on groceries).

This is what he came up with:

A drastically altered version of Thai Pineapple Fried Rice.

I was a little skeptical at first, because 1) pineapple fried rice isn’t made with sausage, but that’s what we had, so that’s what he used, and 2) we have no Thai-flavored seasoning at home. Somehow, he came up with his own version though, and it tasted better (possibly because my expectations were so low, but we’ll disregard that).

Pineapple Fried Rice

1/8 of a pineapple, diced
1/2 of a yellow bell pepper, sliced
1/4 of a cucumber, thinly sliced
8 button mushrooms, sliced
2 chicken apple sausages
1/2 T garlic salt
2 T soy sauce
1 T vegetable oil
1 T crushed red pepper
1 cup brown rice
1 cup white rice

1. Heat a frying pan over medium to medium-high heat. Add the oil, rotating the pan so that it coats the bottom and sides.

2. When the oil is hot, cook sausage over medium heat, flipping over for about 5 minutes. Remove from heat & slice into small to medium chunks. Place bell peppers, mushrooms, and sausage back into frying pan and cook over medium-high heat for 3 minutes. Add cucumbers and pineapples and cook for additional 3 minutes.

3. When everything is cooked thoroughly, add mixed brown & white rice to frying pan and stir fry. Add soy sauce, red pepper, and garlic salt.

4. Remove from heat & serve promptly.

Yummy-licious.

After dinner, we sat on our favorite favorite sofa & watched New Moon. I know we’re way behind with this whole Twilight craze, but we honestly weren’t interested in watching a high school romance about vampires & werewolves. However we just so happened to catch Twilight on TV last week & it kinda gripped me! So for date night, New Moon it was.

I am a huge Edward fan. S is a Jacob fan. We’ve agreed to disagree. I am kind of embarrassed by how much enjoyed watching these (and how I’m not-so-secretly waiting for the rest of the series to come out).

So… what do you think? Are you for Edward, or for Jacob? (And if you’ve read the books, please don’t spoil the ending!)

11 Comments leave one →
  1. April 1, 2010 6:29 am

    yum.. this looks delish! and i adore your dinner plate. so simple & charming.
    i am more convinced than ever that i need to jump on this twilight thing.

  2. becky permalink
    April 1, 2010 7:52 am

    jacob! :-D

  3. April 1, 2010 9:36 am

    okay that looks so delicious!

    and if i have to admit it, i’m for edward. :)

    -angela

  4. April 1, 2010 10:16 am

    I’m eating lunch right now, this looks delicious!!

  5. kellenjacobblog permalink
    April 1, 2010 11:23 am

    this looks delicious. A date night at home is such a great idea. And yes, I am such a twilight fan.

  6. April 1, 2010 11:24 am

    um, no my husband is not a fan just me! *see above comment.

  7. April 2, 2010 3:50 pm

    Hi,
    I know what you mean about the feeling of embarrassment-but it goes! I am really quite old and have thoroughly enjoyed the books and the films. I think if I have to choose it is Jacob for me!

  8. April 2, 2010 8:36 pm

    What a coincidence! We watched Twilight for the first time during the week too. New Moon isn’t released on DVD here until next week. I can’t wait to see it.

  9. April 4, 2010 6:22 pm

    Delicious!

  10. April 6, 2010 10:22 am

    Team Edward, all the way. :)

  11. April 8, 2010 12:41 pm

    It’s so easy to get sucked in to Twilight. And for me? Edward. All the way.

Leave a Reply

