Skip to content

Calligraphy.

March 22, 2010

On June 6, 2009, my husband S and I were wed. The six months leading up to that day kind of changed my life forever, but I don’t think I even realized it until after we were married. I had been a mere college student up until a few months before I got engaged, so I was pretty unaware of the booming arts&crafts/design industry that was at the edge of my fingertips (via the internet). Wedding planning changed all of that for me, and I saw how much potential & opportunity there was for an average artsy-craftsy girl like me with a determination to work hard & an eye for aesthetic.

With marriage came lots of experimentation. I tried my hand at this & that craft, dabbling in every art form I could get my hand on and felt like I would enjoy. I guess you can say I’m still in the thick of it. But one of the first ones I started off with was the art of calligraphy. S advised me to stick with one font until I could master it, so I did.

These were some of the results:

Christmas Cards (2009)

Thank You Cards (2010)

Bridal Shower Invitations (2010)

Wedding Invitation Outer Envelopes (2010) – addresses blurred for privacy purposes

I kind of love calligraphy. :]

If you’re interested in this simple, whimsical style of calligraphy for your event (or just cause), give me a holler via email & I can send you a price sheet.

Happy Monday!

20 Comments leave one →
  1. March 22, 2010 6:14 am

    LOVE! do you have a name for this lovely print?

  2. March 22, 2010 1:18 pm

    oh my. your work is absolutely stunning!
    may i ask, how did you begin to master this art?
    and do you have a shop to showcase your lovely script?

    ps. thank you for the sweet note on my li’l spot..
    those two hues are exactly what i’ve been mad about lately too!

  3. March 22, 2010 5:51 pm

    @coffee&parchment: Haha, we just named it. Abigail.

    @summer: Thanks so much for all your kind words! I just practiced & practiced… and no, I do not have a shop yet. I think I will open one if I receive more positive feedback. :]

  4. March 23, 2010 5:48 am

    how gorgeous! This is one art that I want to do badly and just can’t get. such inspiration you are!

  5. March 23, 2010 1:38 pm

    Your cards, invitations, & envelopes are beautiful. You could sell this on etsy.com!

  6. March 23, 2010 2:49 pm

    These are so lovely. I’ve always wanted to learn calligraphy but have no talent at it. Thanks for stopping by my blog and leaving a comment. And yes, I am half-Korean. It seems like we have a lot of similar interest and I’m looking forward to following your blog.

  7. March 23, 2010 4:26 pm

    oh my this is gorgeous! such beautiful calligraphy! i want to learn! =]

  8. March 26, 2010 2:31 pm

    Oh my goodness. these are beauuuutiful! I am so inspired and in love with your blog. Thank you for stopping by mine and introducing yourself!

  9. March 26, 2010 5:41 pm

    What beautiful examples of calligraphy you have produced – simply gorgeous!! Just out of curiosity, can you tell me what the actual name of the calligraphy font is that you have used here? With thanks, Lee :)

  10. March 26, 2010 9:19 pm

    very lovely pieces!

  11. March 27, 2010 1:50 am

    Wow how cute are these! Love your use of kraft paper, it gives it an organic feel. Your calligraphy is sweet! What kind of pen do you use? I adore pretty calligraphy, and yours is pretty :)

  12. March 27, 2010 8:53 am

    very very lovely indeed. I would add my support for an etsy shop too! You could hand write peoples invitations and addresses and cards etc, would be lovely!

  13. March 29, 2010 3:15 pm

    I love all of these images. Loving your aesthetic. Off to explore some more!

  14. May 6, 2010 6:30 pm

    this is phenomonol. i love your design work! I will certainly keep you in mind should i need it. ;)

  15. May 12, 2010 9:49 am

    Hi! I just came across your blog from your guestblog over at Oh, Hello Friend. Just wanted to say you have such lovely calligraphic style, and I’m glad I discovered your blog.

    Keep up the great work!

  16. Emily permalink
    May 12, 2010 2:04 pm

    Cathie, your calligraphy is beautiful! For those interested in striking into the craft, would you mind sharing the best/your favorite/must have tools of the trade? I’ve recently begun some exploration but would love to know your opinion on the best tools, training guides, etc.

    • May 12, 2010 3:20 pm

      @Emily: thanks so much for your sweet words! hm, you know, i actually just started doing calligraphy, so i’m learning as i go. but definitely you should have a dipping calligraphy pen (not a fountain one) if you want to create the same look. i suggest starting with regular black ink — it’s the cleanest & easiest to use. i didn’t use any training guides, but looked at a bunch of other hand-lettering artists to derive inspiration. but in the end, the best way to learn is just to practice!

  17. May 12, 2010 11:34 pm

    Beauty is in simplicity and you really have the knack. Love your work.

  18. May 13, 2010 7:58 am

    I tried learning how to do calligraphy but my regular handwriting already sucks so my calligraphy looked even worse! :D I’m curious what pen did you use? What kind of nibs? Cause i love the thin swirly effects you have in the ends of the words.

  19. May 14, 2010 6:23 am

    i just discovered your blog and beautiful calligraphy via your post on oh, hello friend! when i saw the comments here, i just had to say – i love the name you chose ; )

    i’ve had calligraphy on my list of things to learn for a little while now along with penmanship flourishes like those practiced in the 19th century. you’ve really inspired me to start now!

    i can’t wait to see how your work develops and would love to read about who has inspired you sometime if you feel like sharing!

Leave a Reply

