Skip to content

Year Two: A List.

June 8, 2010

I’ve been wanting to make a life list ever since I saw Erin do her’s over on her blog. I actually made one during my senior year of high school in my English class, but I’ve since lost that list (what I would give to see it now!). There’s something about making a list that helps us to accomplish certain goals or pursue things we wouldn’t normally try, and I love that. So S & I made our own version of a life list on our one-year anniversary — not a life list, but a year list… things we would like to try/accomplish/do by the time our second anniversary rolls around.

We brainstormed in the car during our long drive, shouting out things that came to us. Some of them are goals for S, some of them for me, and some for both of us to try together. Didn’t have a paper & pen on me, so we improvised with the pencil favor I got from the wedding & a crewcuts bag from our stop at the outlets. :]

Some of my faves from our list:

01. Ride a tandem bicycle.
06. Go star-gazing.
07. Run a 5K together.
09. Drive down PCH.
11. Start & finish a painting.
13. Read the five Jane Austen books.
15. Ride the hot air balloon at Great Park.
16. Grow a plant.
20. Do a staycation in LA.
22. Take a woodworking class.
23. Restore a piece of furniture.
25. Give money to someone in need.

What are some things you would put on your bucket list??

19 Comments leave one →
  1. June 8, 2010 8:00 am

    hey, you still have my jane austen books, right? looks like you may actually read them now!

  2. June 8, 2010 8:10 am

    yay! go, you! i love your fresh take on the life list, and your goals are so, so fun. :) here’s to crossing them off!

  3. June 8, 2010 10:01 am

    this is a great list. on my list? marathon.

    i should probably start with a 5k :)

    -angela

  4. June 8, 2010 11:27 am

    I did the Nordstrom Beat The Bridge last year. Although I didn’t beat the bridge (sad face)..I did run the whole 8k (happy face). It really does feel wonderful (physically and mentally) once you cross that finish line. Do give yourself ample space to drop on the floor, stretch, and stare at the sky for a while…

    But some things on my list to accomplish THIS year are:
    + go to australia (which i am doing later in the summer!)
    + finish ALL of the oscar’s best pictures (about 1/8th done)
    + open shop (done!)

  5. June 8, 2010 12:28 pm

    awwww this is a great list! i should create a list with my husband too! well maybe after we actually cross off things from our daily/weekly to-do list, haha! i totally want to ride a hot air balloon too someday, soo romantic!

  6. June 8, 2010 12:37 pm

    This is really a sweet list:)

  7. June 8, 2010 1:19 pm

    staycations are so much fun! what a sweet idea…

  8. June 8, 2010 2:48 pm

    I turned 30 this year and I have a list. I’m getting lots done but want to add more stuff. Would love any ideas!

    You can see The List on my blog: http://melsidwell.com/2010/04/14/the-list-an-explanation/

    thanks! I love your site. It makes me happy.

  9. June 8, 2010 3:04 pm

    LOVE what you have on your list – I rode a tandem bike once – OMG, it was so hard at first to get coordinated!! One of mine was to go to Australia – which we did last year – WOO HOO!! It was amazing and I can’t wait to go back. (I got to hug a koala – another one that was on my list :)

  10. June 8, 2010 3:20 pm

    run a full marathon on or by my 30th bday.

    learn another language.

    write a bookish.

    overseas.

    tat. (haaaha…)

  11. June 8, 2010 3:41 pm

    How sweet is this? my hubby and i always do “age goals” like at 32 we want to do this….

  12. June 8, 2010 5:52 pm

    i love lists! especially bucket lists :)

    here are a few of mine:

    1. live in the city
    2. sell my work at a local coffee shop
    3. become a photographer :)
    4. run a marathon
    5. go on a mission trip(s)
    6. take a letterpress class

    hope you are well cathie!
    j.

  13. June 8, 2010 7:47 pm

    thanks for sharing! I love reading bucket lists! it’s such a great way to get to know someone or to even feel inspired to do something. I attached some of my list on my blog info! check it out! :]

    you should look into riding the balloon at the great park on a weekday! weekend waits are sometimes two hours long! :[ have a lovely rest of the week!!!!

  14. June 8, 2010 8:53 pm

    I can see why those are your faves. I want to add them to my list :)

  15. June 9, 2010 7:53 am

    i love this list so much, cathie! especially the jane austen books, the hot air balloon, and the gift to someone in need. brilliant! grant and i have a little list.. but it’s more of a ‘someday’ list. we’d like to..
    1. travel by train
    2. read through the entire bible together
    3. eat in a famous restaurant
    4. play a duet
    etc..

  16. June 9, 2010 7:55 am

    i forgot to say
    HAPPY ANNIVERSARY!
    (wasn’t the first year amazing? i remember feeling like we’d just gotten married a couple weeks ago, but yet i couldn’t imagine having EVER lived apart from him!)

  17. June 13, 2010 4:24 am

    I really love your blog.
    Great photographs.

  18. June 13, 2010 9:38 pm

    What a perfectly lovely idea to celebrate your special day…and so many wonderful things to strive to achieve! Your little blog is just gorgeous…quite a little favourite of mine! I understand the need for a hiatus…but, please, do come back soon – you bring sunshine to my day! x

Trackbacks

  1. Lately. « c a t h i e h o n g

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 52 other followers

